Alert Section

Latest News

Flintshire County Council names new Cabinet

Published: 17/05/2023

On Thursday, 4 May, Councillor Ian Roberts was re-elected Leader of the Council at the Annual General Meeting.  He named his Cabinet as follows:

Councillor Christine Jones - Deputy Leader and Cabinet Member for Social Services and Wellbeing

Councillor Dave Hughes - Deputy Leader and Cabinet Member for Streetscene and the regional transport strategy

Councillor Chris Bithell - Cabinet Member for Planning, Public Health and Public Protection

Councillor Billy Mullin – Cabinet Member for Governance and Corporate Services including Health and Safety and Human Resources

Councillor Paul Johnson – Cabinet Member for Finance, Inclusion, Resilient Communities including Social Value and Procurement

Councillor Sean Bibby – Cabinet Member for Housing and Regeneration

Councillor David Healey – Cabinet Member for Climate Change and Economy

Councillor Mared Eastwood - Cabinet Member for Education, Welsh Language, Culture and Leisure

Speaking after the meeting, Councillor Eastwood said:

"I am honoured to have been given this Cabinet Member position and look forward to developing my role within this portfolio."

Jane Dodds MS, Leader of the Liberal Democrats added: 

“I am delighted to learn of Mared’s appointment as Education Portfolio holder within Flintshire County Council. Education has always been one of the Welsh Liberal Democrats top priorities and I know she will do a fantastic job and delivering for young people across Flintshire.”